Thursday, October 22, 2009

Spurrier was right, Bama spotting kicks with tape

ESPN's Chris Low has the story:

Alabama coach Nick Saban said his kickers will not use tape to spot field goals and extra points from now on.

After reviewing video of South Carolina's 20-6 loss to Alabama (No. 2 BCS, No. 1 AP) last week, Gamecocks coach Steve Spurrier pointed out Leigh Tiffin's use of the white tape to spot his kicks and reported it to the Southeastern Conference. The video showed Tiffin quickly putting the tape in his pocket after kicking, Spurrier said.

Spurrier said on Wednesday that he was told by the conference that what Tiffin did was against the rules.

Saban said he didn't know Tiffin was using the tape and said it isn't worth risking a 5-yard penalty. However, he says Tide coaches have found Tiffin wasn't alone in spotting the ball.

"We certainly don't want our players to do anything that's illegal," Saban said. "It is a 5-yard penalty if you do anything to enhance the spot. We've done some research on it, and over half the teams in the league do something with it.

Bookmark and Share