Wednesday, December 9, 2009

Tebow wins Campbell Trophy, the academic Heisman

Florida quarterback Tim Tebow, who won the 2007 Heisman Trophy, added the academic equivalent of the storied award on Tuesday night. Tebow was named the 20th winner of the William V. Campbell Trophy at The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame's awards dinner.

Though Tebow, a Heisman finalist, may not take home the stiff-armed trophy this Saturday, he will leave New York with a 24-inch, 25-pound bronze trophy that honors players for academic and football success as well as their community service.

The winner receives a $25,000 postgraduate scholarship. The other 15 finalists each claimed $18,000 scholarships.

Tebow will graduate on Dec. 19 with a 3.66 grade-point average as a Family, Youth & Community Sciences major.

"It feels like just the other day I threw the jump pass against LSU my first year and now it's over," Tebow said Tuesday before the Campbell winner was announced. "It went by fast that's for sure."

Tebow is the third Florida player to win the award, which was formerly known as the Draddy Trophy, joining defensive lineman Brad Culpepper (1991) and quarterback Danny Wuerffel (1996). ...

"This award means so much because it's not just how you play on the field, it's not just what you do in the classroom, but it's what you do as a leader and someone who is going to serve your community," Tebow said according to a release from the Hall of Fame after the banquet. "That's what's most important about this award, because all these guys are great players and they're extremely intelligent, but more importantly, they're good people. They help their community and they make a difference in this world."

Full story here.

Back to Top

Bookmark and Share